Hiroshima 2016 Pt I: Rock Climbing At Mount Mikura-dake

Much of Hiroshima prefecture consists of mountains leading towards bordering Shimane prefecture which is welcome news for my father-in-law and I as we both enjoy mountain climbing and so gives us an interest which we can share together. After just one rest day following my sole venture in Okayama, the activities began again as went to do some rock climbing at Mount Mikura-dake.

IMG_7706 IMG_7708

This mountain is located in Ōtake city and what I love about it is that it is clearly visible from the bottom and is actually something very beautiful to look at thanks to the sacred mountain of granite protruding from the forested area surrounding it.

At only 702 metres I wasn’t expecting too much trouble with the climb but you wouldn’t have thought that given the amount of things which my father-in-law loaded me up with! We certainly weren’t going to go short of energy jelly drinks on this climb! Whilst not as much as I lugged up Mount Fuji, I probably ended up carrying more stuff for this one than I did when I climbed the 1499 metre Meakan-dake in Hokkaido in June 2015.

IMG_7711 IMG_7713

Many plants and animals grow and live in the the forest at the foot of the mountain where there are also camping options available. July and August are supposed to be the liveliest months for camping but, of the 87 tent sites available, very few were being used when we passed by.

IMG_7714 IMG_7715 IMG_7717 IMG_7722

It was steep at times but I wasn’t really expecting such vertical parts like you can see below where chains and ropes were on hand to assist with ascending the rock.

IMG_7721 IMG_7723

The views from the top of Asahi-dake, the first of the three peaks, really were wonderful and use of the selfie stick was a requirement! When absolutely no-one is around at all I find no embarrassment in using one!

IMG_7724 IMG_7725   IMG_7730 IMG_7731

We were only able to climb two of the three peaks for some reason so after conquering Naka-dake (the middle peak) we began our descend.

IMG_7732 IMG_7733 IMG_7734 IMG_7735

There are actually true vertical rock climbing options (below) with ropes and so on as we saw a small group of climbers scaling the 120 metre wall towards the end of our venture.

IMG_7736 IMG_7740

Having started just before 9am we finished around 11:15 am and only when we got back to the Rest Loghouse (where our wives were waiting) at the foot of Mikura-dake for a drink and some lunch did I notice the above sign about bears!

When it comes to mountains in Hiroshima there really are many options beyond Mount Misen in Miyajima and as we continue to visit Hiroshima often each year there should be ample opportunity to climb a few more of them.

After Mikura-dake we went to a nearby rocky river area called Jagui (below) which was packed with holiday-makers cooling off from the blazing sunshine. It did feel nice to wade into the water and refresh myself a bit after the rock climbing and was a shame that I didn’t have my actual swimming shorts with me so that I could have gone fully in.

IMG_7741 IMG_7742 IMG_7743 IMG_7747 IMG_7748 IMG_7756

Everyone seemed to be enjoying the water apart from Momiji (below) who, unlike most dogs, really doesn’t like water which we kind of knew beforehand anyway!

IMG_7745 IMG_7750

Click here to read ‘Hiroshima 2016 Pt II: Hijiyama Park’

About tokyofox

A Leicester City fan teaching English in Japan
This entry was posted in Action & Adventure, Japan Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hiroshima 2016 Pt I: Rock Climbing At Mount Mikura-dake

  1. Pingback: Hiroshima 2016 Pt II: Hijiyama Park & Lazy Days Aplenty! | Tokyo Fox (東京狐)

Leave a Reply

